A minor post

-some thoughts need to be written so that I don’t have to keep thinking about them-

I’ve been thinking about this off and on for a few weeks now. It’s a way of categorizing things that are made by their growing complexity: any one part is an aggregation of lesser parts until you reach a base unit or a complete unit.

Though it may be a little contrived, here are some of the areas of study I know a little about, or know someone who knows about them, and are similar in their organization of growing complexity.

6 thoughts on “A minor post

  1. All I have to say is, interesting… very interesting. I sometimes don’t understand how you think, you are more complex than I am I think. You use a lot of big words in this post, good job.

  2. seems like the writing base should be a letter.
    and a measure and a bar in music are the same thing. Perhaps you mean a stanza or something as a working unit. Although, not all music is grouped into stanzas, sometimes I think you can call it a line, a theme, or maybe a motif.
    I don’t know anything about biology or programming so I won’t dispute those.

  3. Agreed with Scott that the base should be letter. Rather than idea you would have something like section, or subsection. Speech gets way more complex. Linguistics deals a lot with how language is formed, etc. You should read about Dewey- the decimal system guy, you’d like him. He tried to organize all human knowledge into 100 sections. Short sighted fellow, but interesting.

  4. I like it. You and Jeff really are a lot more alike than my parents would suggest. I’ll have to show this to him. 10 eProps for even coming up with it…I don’t think I’d have thought up anything like that.
    I agree with the letter thing as the base for writing. I think I know what you mean by “system”…systems of a body, like circulatory system or something, right? As for the music, I’m not sure how I would improve on it, so I’ll give it you. Anyway, I think you’re awesome. Seeya next week!

Comments are closed.